The Big Idea

“So some anonymous internet joker started a blog; why should I give a damn?”

Well… the short answer is that you shouldn’t, at least right now.

I’ve always been a writer. That is to say, I was less bad at writing than anything else I’ve tried. I can’t act or sing or dance or paint or sculpt. I don’t have great comedic timing. Despite some early hope in that department, I can’t draw. I can’t program, which means I won’t be making a beloved indie game. If I’m going to create something that I’m proud of, something that has a chance to last, it’s going to have to be in the form of words stuck next to other words.

However, it recently occurred to me that for someone who self-identifies as a writer and always has, for someone who literally can’t conceive of doing anything besides writing… I wasn’t doing a whole hell of a lot of it. Ever since throwing up my hands in defeat at TV Tropes about two years ago, the only substantial pieces of writing I’ve produced are a handful of Let’s Plays (which, while fun to do and reasonably well-received, aren’t the kinds of things you put at the top of the ol’ resume) and some unpublished (and unpublishable) fiction. That’s not going to work. Writing, or at least writing well, isn’t like riding a bicycle — at least not for me. You have to do it constantly, or you start to forget how. That wasn’t a problem when I was in school and was writing analyses and book reviews more or less daily, but it is now. I need a place to write. Consistently. Constantly. Substantially.

Thus, this blog. I’m setting a goal for myself: I’m going to post something here every day. No excuses. I’m a very routine-oriented person, so I want to get myself into a habit where writing is just a part of my day; something I just go and do instead of psyching myself into it. Get up, get dressed, eat, write.

Now, I can’t promise that everything I post here will be good, or that it’s going to be right up your alley. But I do hope to improve. I hope to come back on November 19, 2011 and find something amidst the 365 entries that I don’t hate.

As for subject matter, this blog will primary deal with the things I care about. Because it’s daily, I’m not going to force myself to stick to a topic. If I was just posting whenever, I might say “this is a gaming blog” or “this is a Braves blog” or “this is a book review blog”. Because I do want to post every day, though, I’m not going to restrict myself that way, so you’ll probably see all those topics and more. Instead, it’ll be “this is a Tanto blog”. Some posts will be more substantial than others — for every thoughtful essay or product review I expect there will be more than a few “this Derek Lowe joker can’t pitch for crap”. So it goes. Like I said, I don’t promise quality, just content. Hopefully the quality will come.

Oh, yeah — one more thing: The name. WordPress tells me that the name you may know me by elsewhere on the internet, Tanto, is taken, so I had to go with something else. I went with “bravesword” for a couple of reasons.

  • The Brave Sword is a weapon in at least two of my favorite games: Chrono Trigger, where it’s Frog’s best weapon aside from the reforged Masamune; and the Fire Emblem series, where it’s a rare, usually unique sword that doubles its wielder’s number of hits. If you were to place a bet on which topic I’ll end up discussing the most, “video games” would be pretty easy money.
  • It can also be read as “Braves Word.” The Atlanta Braves are the only sports team that I identify closely enough with to really call myself a fan, and they’ll almost certainly become recurring characters if this blog lasts long enough.
  • It puns of my usual internet alias, Tanto, which is a type of dagger.

So you see, it works on so many different levels. See you guys tomorrow.

2 Responses to “The Big Idea”


  1. 1 falselogic November 19, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    Not a bad idea a wonderful idea! In fact I was having that very thought today! But it was more like a write something everyday for thirty days kind of thing.

    I consider myself a writer too and have done a fair share of it, mostly poetry, but I haven’t given it the attention it deserves.

    If you keep this up you just might inspire me to do it to!

  2. 2 kaisel November 29, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    I’m glad that you’re actually keeping a blog, I’ve been a fan of your Let’s Plays, and your mafia analyses, so it’s good to have another place to read your writing.

    And yeah, thanks to both you and Brickroad I’m going to attempt to do the same.


Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories