Remodeling

They say you can tell how much of a bibliophile someone is based on how much of their furniture is being used as a makeshift bookcase. If that’s the case, then I’ve magically become less of a bibliophile overnight, not because I’ve gotten rid of my books or anything (God forbid), but because I’ve acquired and assembled a spanking-new bookcase.

I had initially decided to buy a DVD rack, because my old one had run out of space for new games, and I needed someplace to put my new Christmas loot. Once I actually got to Target, though, I decided to kill two birds with one stone and clear my floor of the piles of books that had been accumulating. My dad and I put an hour or so into putting it together, and after a false start in which we’d stood it upside-down, we finally managed to get it in place. I was then able to move these huge swaths of books to the new shelf, revealing patches of carpet I hadn’t seen in literally years.

I haven’t organized the books in question yet — I just wanted to get them off the floor at first — but I spotted some books there that I hadn’t seen in quite a while. When my first bookshelf started filling up, I had a vague plan to keep my favorite books on the shelf, and “demote” the crappy books to cardboard boxes, but that plan fell apart after a while just because it was so irritating to actually move books around once they were placed. Instead, they ended up in piles and stacks, scattered around the room. While cleaning them up, I found all sorts of long-forgotten tomes… my Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy compilation. The Lord of the Isles series by David Drake, which I bought loyally before realizing that they kind of sucked. Old Baseball Prospectus annuals, which I got a few chuckles out of leafing through. (Remember when the Indians were the best organization in baseball?) And tons and tons of books I picked up at clearance sales and had only briefly touched, if ever. There might be some decent reading material here that I’d overlooked, if I can ever get them sorted.

The shelf is having a ripple effect on the rest of the room, as well. I’m going to have to move the bed some to give me more of a walkway, and to do that I’m going to have to swap out my beat-up old gaming chair for a new one. (I should have done this years ago, but I’m too much of a sentimentalist.) I’m also throwing away boxes of junk that I’d meant to get rid of ages ago, but never got around to — I need the space, now. Once I get my new TV in there, it’ll be like a whole new room! That’s a pretty decent haul for just one Christmas.

0 Responses to “Remodeling”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories