Will Work For Food

Been job hunting in recent days. It goes without saying that job hunting, especially in this market, is the worst thing on the planet. Some people are well-suited to putting themselves out there and selling themselves, but I’m not. I have confidence that I can do most things that don’t require specific education, but actively attempting to pimp myself out feels… I don’t know, dirty? I try to be humble most of the time, so pulling a 180 and declaring myself The Man For The Job goes against all my instincts.

The real problem, though, is my lack of real work experience. For most of high school and my first few years of college I was an absolutely arrogant snot who believed he’d be retired by 30 and so most low-level jobs were beneath him, so even though I’d gladly accept one of those jobs now, I’ve got a suspicious-looking employment gap on my record. And, you know, I’d fix that if I could, but I can’t. The past is the past, and no amount of regret will give me 24 months of customer service experience, you know? I’m in that vicious cycle where I need to get hired to earn work experience, but no one will even talk to me because I don’t have any work experience. It’s an unbelievable frustration, and one that gets worse and worse with each passing day.

I don’t think I’m being too picky… I’m willing to take those retail hell or paper pusher jobs I would have turned up my nose at five years ago. I’m scouring want ads and job sites. I just need something — for my sanity if nothing else. And I can’t find it.

1 Response to “Will Work For Food”


  1. 1 papillonreel January 22, 2011 at 1:58 am

    Oof, yeah, the job market’s pretty damn awful, this time of year especially – even in Ottawa, a city as recession-proof as you can get, it’s tough finding work and it being the low point of retail means that they’re likely cutting hours instead of looking to hire.

    Anyway, all that said there should be some openings out there. Be sure to give temp agencies a try too; they’ll do a lot of the legwork for you in terms of sending out applications and setting up interviews. They’re great if you’re willing to work 40 hours a week in a low-ranking office or factory position, and often the jobs pay well too – the only catch is that it’s temporary so you can never really guarantee a position after x months. Failing that, you’d probably have a good chance working at a book store or library thanks to your English Lit degree. Try scouting out those kinds of locations and see if there are any openings.

    And if all that fails, then I hear that Target’s opening a couple of hundred stores up here in Canada sometime in the next year or so. It’s only a few borders away. >_>


Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories