Next time, on bravesword

First off, obviously what’s going on in Japan right now is just horrible. I’d talk about it, but I don’t have anything particularly cogent to say about it, so I’ll just add my well-wishing to everyone else’s and talk about something stupid and trivial instead.

I’m feeling at a bit of a loose ends regarding what to play next. This is problematic as far as this blog is concerned, because much of my writing here is concerned with “what I’m playing, and what I think about it” and I can’t do that if I’m not currently playing anything. Someday the strength of men will fail, and on that day I’ll get around to actually beating Okami, but until then I think it’s best we give up the illusion that I’m actually actively “playing” it, given that I haven’t touched it in something like three weeks. I’ve nearly finished Radiant Historia — unless there’s a huge shock, I think that all I’ve got left is sidequests and the final dungeon, and that doesn’t make for particularly thrilling reading. (I could rant about how annoying searching for invisible, hidden-by-the-terrain treasure chests is, if you like.) After that, I’m not sure what I’ll be spending my portable time playing. It won’t be anything new, that’s a certainty, as I’m broke… so I’ll have to find something to replay. I could do a second runthrough of Glory of Heracles, or maybe pick up 4 Heroes of Light again and try to force my way through the crappy parts. Hrm.

On the console front, I started up a new file of Chrono Trigger the other night. I complained so much about the lack of Chrono Trigger-esque games the other day that playing the genuine article seemed a decent compromise. The problem with that is that not only do I not have anything particularly novel to say about the game, I don’t think anyone does. Can I really say anything about the battle system or the characters or the visual design or the soundtrack that no one has come up with before?

So we’ll have to see how it goes. I’m sure that something will jump out at me as being worthy of note eventually.

1 Response to “Next time, on bravesword”


  1. 1 PapillonReel March 11, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    Eerie timing for this post; I just mentioned on TT that I’m thinking of lending some games out. If you need anything new to play, I could recommend a few things if you’d like.


Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories