Yada yada yada…

1) Still no Final Fantasy VI… A Wii user actually has no new games to download at all this week, for any system, of any quality. (There are two demos.) Why do you torment me so, Nintendo? I want to give you my money very badly, but you make it so hard. I guess they don’t want anything distracting from the 3DS launch, but it’s not like I had any chance of buying that right now anyway, even if I did want it. I do, however, have 10 dollars that I’d like to spend.

2) Holy crap; MLB.com revamped its appearance. The season must be getting close! I think I like it better than the older version, which was somewhat chaotic and confusing to negotiate. There’s still not anything actually worth reading there, though. You’d think MLB would have enough cachet to hire the cream of the crop, rather than assigning guys who can barely string a coherent sentence together to serve as beat reporters.

The Braves announced their bench the other day, and it was pretty shocking, if you’re the kind of person who can be shocked by bench announcements. They’d spent the whole spring having a big sloppy love affair with Joe Mather, so it was a surprise that they finally cut him. He had a pretty awful spring with the bat and can’t really field, so it’s not a huge surprise on that front, but when the Braves start hyping someone up they usually give them a few months to prove they don’t belong, rather than cutting bait at the first sign of trouble.

I wonder if the Braves will act all shocked when they rediscover that no, Brandon Hicks still hits like a pitcher. A moderately hot spring doesn’t really change that, you know. At least he’s a true shortstop, unlike Diory Hernandez and Ed Lucas.

Finally, they cut Scott Proctor. Finally. I have no idea why they signed him in the first place. It must be their fetish for once-good Yankee relievers whose arms were destroyed by Joe Torre acting up again. Now the bullpen looks pretty solid as long as Craig Kimbrel and Jonny Venters can maintain at least a nodding acquaintance with the strike zone and George Sherrill is never allowed to stand within a hundred feet of a right-handed hitter.

3) Been doing a re-read of the Belgariad recently for no reason. I absolutely cannot read those books critically, as they’re part of my childhood, so I don’t have anything particularly compelling to say about them. Even though fantasy has advanced a long way since Eddings’s heyday, I can still never resist a walk through his world, and I never will be able to.

2 Responses to “Yada yada yada…”


  1. 1 falselogic March 28, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    I recognize how formulaic the Belgariad (and the Mallorean) are but, like you, I love reading them. I used to read all ten books once a year; that hasn’t happened it quite awhile though.

    Eddings spoiled his own works for his readers I feel. I couldn’t read the last series he came out with because in every character I saw other Eddings characters that I liked so much better than the new ones.

    Also, I could never like smart little girl gods. I excuse it in the Elenium but find it in anything else a grievous crime.

  2. 2 bravesword March 29, 2011 at 12:55 pm

    Eddings’s biggest problem is that halfway through the Tamuli, he lost his taste for putting his characters in really tense situations. His characters become so competent that there’s no real reason to fear the villains, since they tend to be both weaker and dumber than the heroes. This first becomes evident in the latter half of the Tamuli, which is a massive curbstomp, becomes prominent in The Redemption of Althalus, where the only tense parts are the sections where a plot device causes the protagonists to lose access to their gamebreaking powers for a few chapters, and completely takes over the narrative in The Dreamers, where the protagonists barely even suffer a setback, much less a true defeat.


Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories