Ach, me limbs!

You’ll have to forgive me if this post is a little incoherent. I’m coming off the longest continuous period of wakefulness in my entire life, and I feel pain in, well, more or less everything. Bizarrely, I slept for about seven hours, but was more tired after I got up than I was when I went to bed. I’m… pretty sure that’s not the way it’s supposed to work.

It’s bizarre how words and phrases become part of the collective vocabulary. Recently in my family a new phrase as entered the vernacular: “Hearing it from the UPS man”. This bit of cargo cult arises from the fact that one of my uncles was fired, but my grandmother didn’t hear a peep about it from any of her five children and eventually learned of the situation from her UPS man, who mentioned it in passing. My grandmother, who is otherwise the nicest person you’ll ever meet, blew her top, and a massive shitstorm ensued, a shitstorm I’m doing my level best to stay the hell out of. This was a couple weeks ago, but in that short time it’s become a sudden tradition to preface news with “Just so you don’t hear it from the UPS man…”

I like it because it sounds vaguely dirty.

Still no Final Fantasy III/VI this week. Stop holding out on us, Nintendo.

Just to give you an idea of how big a nerd I am, I was unusually disappointed today to find that this year’s E3 overlaps with my sister’s wedding, so I won’t be able to follow it as closely as I’m accustomed to doing. I might even be a few hours behind the times! The horror!

Speaking of the wedding, that’s shaping up to be an enormous clusterfuck as well, and you can add it to the same “staying the fuck out of it” list from above. ‘Tis the season for family drama, I suppose. None of it involves me (at least not directly), so I’m going to chart the wise man’s course of keeping my head down and waiting it out.

The Braves are still on the west coast. How many teams do they have out there, anyway?

0 Responses to “Ach, me limbs!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories