Well, Pokemon is done.

By which I mean I finished the main quest last night. It was interesting having the final battle actually be the climax of the story for once instead of a rote nod at series tradition, fighting a mysterious helpful stranger who ends up being the Champion. The final gauntlet was shockingly easy — especially considering that Champions have normally been quite the challenge for me. (Blue famously stonewalled me so badly back in the day that I had to start over, and Cynthia is one of the most difficult opponents in the whole series.) I’d heard that Ghetsis’s Hydreigon was a major bitch, but it was too busy getting punched to death by my Mienshao to pose much of a threat. The hardest enemy I faced in the Elite Four was probably Shauntal’s Chandelure, which seemed specially designed to fight my team, and the biggest “oh, crap” moment looked something like this:

N sent out Carracosta!

Go, Leavanny!

Leavanny used Leaf Blade! It’s super-effective!

Carracosta endured the hit with Sturdy!

Carracosta used Stone Edge! It’s super-effective!

Carracosta used Aqua Jet! Leavanny fainted!

Go, Mienshao!

N used a Full Restore!

But even that was more annoyance than anything.

It appears there are still a few other things to do; Looker wants me to look for Sages, and there’s a bunch of areas on the map I haven’t been able to enter yet. Too, I still need to complete my TM collection and fight the real Champion. I’m not really one for postgames, and I’ve kind of lost my taste for breeding competitive Pokemon since my Platinum obsession waned, but I feel like I’ve barely spent any time with this game (under thirty hours!), so I want to get my money’s worth. Once I’ve filled in my map and completed my collection of important items, I’ll reevaluate.

My tentative conclusion is that this is very, very close to being the ideal Pokemon game, but for some flaws with wild Pokemon. First off, the encounter rate is way too high, as I’ve mentioned. Secondly, wild Pokemon in this game are absolutely loaded with annoying moves and abilities, stuff that doesn’t really make the game harder, but makes battles take longer. Things like Sturdy, Bide, and status effects are bizarrely common among the wild Pokemon in this game, so when you’re trying to get from one place to another your choice is either Repels or suffer through excruciatingly long battles. I gather the idea here is to disincentivize grinding off wild Pokemon (and make no mistake, deemphasizing grinding is a worthy goal), but what they’re actually accomplishing is disincentivizing fighting wild Pokemon at all. The Unova Pokedex has a ton of neat Pokemon in it, but hunting for them is an exercise in frustration much of the time, and that’s too bad.

2 Responses to “Well, Pokemon is done.”


  1. 1 PapillonReel May 23, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    Congrats on reaching the end! What was your final team, by the way?

    I actually kind of liked that most Pokémon had utility moves the moment you caught them – it made things more interesting training them up since they could do more to win than just murder things to death. I could see how that could be a problem fighting them though, and coupled with the high-encounter rate I guess that’s where all the griping from Black and White are coming from.

    • 2 bravesword May 23, 2011 at 6:21 pm

      Samurott, Stoutland (replaced with Reshiram for the final gauntlet, then added back in immediately thereafter — I didn’t want to take any chances with Zekrom), Leavanny, Gothitelle, Mienshao, and Bisharp. Worked out fairly well, if a bit on the slow side.


Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories