I miss college.

The reason there wasn’t a post yesterday was because my sister was graduating from college, and when I wasn’t attending that I was working. No time for making pithy comments about Pokemon or the Braves, unfortunately. (Or fortunately, in that latter case.)

If you’ve seen one commencement ceremony, you’ve seen ’em all, so I won’t dwell on that. (Except to ask what moron expects the audience to sit on a steep hill for the proceedings. My sister graduated from a much more prestigious school than I did, but her graduation was more of a disorganized mess than was mine, so I can at least hold that over her.) Instead, the whole proceedings brought home how much I miss college myself. Not the classes necessarily, but rather the atmosphere.

When I was in college I felt as though I was at the peak of my game. I wrote both more frequently and with higher quality, my social life was more extensive, and I was finally working towards something concrete. I’d gotten past the insufferable arrogance that marred my character in high school and finally felt like I was moving forward and making real progress with my life, both as a person and as a professional. Since then, though, I feel like I’ve kind of stalled out… In between the time I graduated and the time my sister did, I hadn’t really accomplished anything or moved forward with my ambitions at all. Some of that was beyond my control, but a lot of it wasn’t, and seeing my sister walk across the stage really brought home how little I’d really progressed in that time. That’s probably selfish of me, but I can’t help what I can’t help.

I’d really like to go back — god knows my current level of education isn’t helping me any — but for various reasons that doesn’t seem to be in the cards right now. It looks like the solution is just to keep on keepin’ on, for the moment at least.

Enough tedious self-justification. Tomorrow: Why the Pirates of the Caribbean sequels sucked, and why I won’t be seeing part four.

0 Responses to “I miss college.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories