I wish I knew more about music.

I like music, mind you. I’ve got a giant hunk of it on my iPod, which I take wherever I go. It’s just that I don’t really know anything about music, you know? I can’t evaluate it based on any standard other than “this sounds good to my ears”, and I don’t know where to go to be exposed to new stuff. Whenever I happen upon a discussion of music I always hear people talking about what is, to me, these really obscure acts and genres that are completely meaningless to me, which never fails to make me feel like an idiot.

I don’t mind being a casual fan of some things, but music is so ubiquitous and universal that I feel like I really should know more about it than I do. This was brought home when someone asked me the other day what kind of music I liked and I didn’t really have an answer for her. Video game music, some free trance scrounged up from various corners of the internet, some alternative albums from back in high school… it’s an eclectic mix, no doubt about that, but one constructed in fits and spurts and without any real attempt to expand my horizons.

Part of this can be traced to the fact that, for a very long time, my spending money was extremely limited, and music was just not on the agenda, compared to my true loves of video games and books. If I’ve got fifty bucks, do I want to spent it on a new game or a few albums I may or may not like, or may like five songs on in total? So music sort of slipped into the background of my life.

This is something I’d like to rectify, but I haven’t a clue where to begin. Music fandom is deep and dark, and I’ve contented myself with merely staring into that particular abyss for now.

0 Responses to “I wish I knew more about music.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories