Five Dollar Footlong

So I’ve kind of stalled out in Pokemon… My team is in that irritating middle level where I’m too strong to grind off random battles, but not strong enough to deal with the Elite Four rematches and other strong post-game trainers. I’ve filled in my whole map, found as many items as I can easily reach. I’ve caught all the Musketeer trio, but Tornadus continues to evade me and honestly I’m a little nervous about going up against Kyurem or Volcanora. So I’m at loose ends.

Out of sheerest boredom, I ran a few Battle Subway streaks last night, and, well, the CPU’s probability-altering field is still in full, frustrating effect. (I think I missed something like six of seven Hi Jump Kicks at one point. Fun!) In absence of anything more useful to do, I started to consider maybe breeding up a team for running the Battle Subway. Battle [Whatever]s are well-known for their cheatiness, so I guess you kind of have to take that into account.

Considering the following tentative team!

Mienshao
Item: Leftovers
Ability: Regenerator
Nature: Jolly
EV spread: 4 HP / 252 Attack / 252 Speed
Moves:
~ Drain Punch
~ U-Turn
~ Rock Slide
~ Fake Out

Weavile
Item: Expert Belt
Ability: Pressure
Nature: Adamant
EV spread: 4 HP / 252 Attack / 252 Speed
Moves:
~ Ice Punch
~ Night Slash
~ Brick Break
~ Aerial Ace

Starmie
Item: Life Orb
Ability: Natural Cure
Nature: Modest
EV spread: 4 HP / 252 Special Attack / 252 Speed
Moves:
~ Scald
~ Thunderbolt
~ Ice Beam
~ Psyshock

Choice items aren’t included because you have to win at the Battle Subway in the first place to get them.

Probably not the best of all possible teams (for one thing, I refuse to use legendaries, and I’d prefer not to use any pseudo-legendaries if I can avoid it), but eh. Not sure I’m up for anything more complex than throwing out a bunch of quick sweepers and hoping for the best.

Anyway, breeding, EV training, and grinding should be a nice time-waster during my breaks at work. I’ve never been able to get into Pokemon’s post-game in the past because, eh, I’ve got better things to do, but now I suddenly don’t. Thanks, employment!

1 Response to “Five Dollar Footlong”


  1. 1 PapillonReel June 7, 2011 at 4:54 am

    Even worse is that the Battle Subway prepares itself for whatever team you build, moves included, so even if you build a team that would otherwise be solid on WiFi it’d still fall apart after being constantly counterteamed. Someone over on the Brontoforums hacked in a No Guard Electrode with Sheer Cold and suddenly everything he fought had Sturdy, and when he hacked in Wondertomb, status effects were everywhere. Frustrating!


Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories