Welp.

I didn’t mean for updates to get away from me again like this, but a combination of extreme busyness and rougher-than-usual work making more sleep necessary has kind of sucked away my free time. What leisure time I have had has mostly been spent fiddling with my PSP. Don’t feel too left out, though, as this blog isn’t the only thing I’ve been neglecting: I’ve fallen behind on my TV viewing, I’ve been stopped on the last level of Sonic Colors for about two weeks, I haven’t read anything new in a while, and I can’t remember the last time I watched all nine innings of baseball game.

Fortunately I’ve got three off-days in a row lined up, so I plan to get some Shit Done. Get caught up on my shows, crank out a Majora’s Mask update, watch some baseball, and play all the games.

1) I’d been plugging away at Dissidia even though the main quest has started to bore me. The original Dissidia plot is a lot more insipid than the new stuff for 012 (which is hardly brilliant itself), and I ran into two characters back-to-back who I don’t really enjoy playing in Terra and Cecil.

There’s a lot to like with Terra; she’s a ranged fighter, which I like; she can easily initiate chases, which I also like; and her EX Burst is really easy to do perfectly, which I love. However, actually killing things with her is a chore. At the level I finished her story with she had essentially only two HP Attacks, both of which were really slow, telegraphed things that are hard to hit with. I probably won more matches with her by building up massive Bravery, initiating a chase, and hitting the other guy with a big HP Attack than I did by winning “normally”.

Cecil, on the other hand, I don’t like at all. He’s a multiple-stance character, like Lightning, but he changes between Paladin and Dark Knight automatically when he uses certain moves rather than activating the transformation with a button combination. Usually with multiple-stance characters like Lightning or Zelda I just figure out the one I like best and stay there, but that’s not really possible with Cecil. I could stand this, too, but his HP Attacks seem really punishable. I think I’ve used an HP Attack only to be immediately Brave Breaked in retaliation more in the dozen or so fights I played with Cecil than I had in the entire rest of the game up to that point.

It seems to me that the major problem with both characters is how limited their angles of attack are. This could probably be an entire essay in itself, and in fact I think it will be, once I’ve fleshed out the idea some.

2) While at work I was listening to a fantasy short story podcast and happened across a story by George R.R. Martin, more famous of course for the A Song of Ice and Fire series. It was about dimensional-hopping beings, and it was pretty good, but one thing that stuck out at me were the villains — a cabal of godlike beings called (wait for it) The Seven.

Now, as everyone knows, the Seven is the primary religion of the main continent in ASoIaF, and the most likely explanation is that it’s just a cute nod by Martin — that, or Martin has a Costanza-esque fondness for the number seven. I am kind of worried, though — it’s been a while since I’ve read the series, but I seem to recall that the nature of the Seven was somewhat vaguely defined, and their major influence on history was summoning forth an Andal horde to wipe out the old gods. In addition, the Faith of the Seven became more prominent in A Feast For Crows, and they started to seem more sinister rather than just part of the backdrop of the setting as they had been. I’m probably worrying about nothing, but I’d hate to see a series that’s so innovative in so many other ways degenerate into “god is evil” ridiculousness.

3) I’d completely overlooked all the shows starting back up. I taped White Collar but haven’t had a chance to watch it, but forgot entirely about new Futurama, Burn Notice, and Leverage. Will I ever get caught up? Stay tuned to find out!

1 Response to “Welp.”


  1. 1 kaisel June 27, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    One thing with Martin is that he reuses a lot of stuff from his stories, though mostly ones that weren’t published. I think Barristan, the Seven, and R’hllor, or whatever the Red God’s name was come from earlier works.

    That said, I really hope that ASOIAF doesn’t end up with the gods being proved real. Actually, to be honest, so much of what people like about the series seems to be wearing away in the newer books, the lack of magic and influence of the gods and the like seem to be coming to the forefront. I’m interested in seeing how people take those sorts of developments.


Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories