Ultimate Illusion

Steady paychecks are making me dangerously irresponsible. I bought a giant pile of books yesterday, including Brandon Sanderson’s latest, The Way of Kings. (I was waiting for the paperback because I was pretty sure that if I took the hardcover edition into my house, the upper story would collapse under the weight.) I usually burn through Sanderson’s books in a few days, but this monster appears to be thick enough to challenge even me. And he plans to write ten of these things while also working on The Wheel of Time and other unrelated projects? The man’s a crazy.

I also bought Ys: The Oath in Felghana for no other reason than it was twenty dollars and I could. I love cheap video games.

And if that weren’t enough — and if I weren’t already muddling about in Dissidia 012 and Final Fantasy Tactics — Final Fantasy III came out on the Virtual Console today. I didn’t actually have to spend any money on this one, because I still had some leftover spacebux from my purchase of Chrono Trigger a few weeks back (which I still haven’t finished, incidentally…), but where am I going to find time to play it? I am positively drowning in menus to negotiate and Fires to cast, you guys. That’s the great tragedy of the video game hobby — when you’ve got time to play them, you don’t have money to buy them, but if you go out and earn that money, that’s time you can’t spend playing them.

Well, whatever. Sooner or later I’m going to be sitting around with nothing better to do, and when that day comes, the game will be sitting on my Wii… waiting patiently.

Unlike Xenoblade and The Last Story, evidently. I’d talk about that, but what’s there to say? I want to play them, but Nintendo won’t let me. Operation Drizzle or whatever was a nice gesture, but internet activism has never worked before and it won’t work now, so anyone who was surprised that it didn’t happen has been deluding themselves from the start. I held out some hope after E3 that Nintendo was just holding back on them so as not to distract from the 3DS, Wii U, and Skyward Sword, but that report stating that NoA forbade NoE from showcasing the games at E3 has pretty much killed that hope for me. Now if we get either game it’ll be a pleasant surprise, rather than the seeming certainty I once thought it was. It’s bizarre that we’re twenty years past the SNES days and advanced the medium in so many ways, but on this one issue we’ve wrapped right back around to “RPGs are too niche for these action-obsessed Americans to wrap their ADD brains around” again. We’re entering another age of lost classics, and that’s just too bad. Maybe ten years from now RPGs will be huge again and publishers will start dipping into their backlogs again?

2 Responses to “Ultimate Illusion”


  1. 1 kaisel June 30, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Ys: Oath in Felghana is a great game (so’s Ys Seven as well), I hope you enjoy it. It’s always been my preferred action-RPG series due to it being much more on the action side, than the RPG side, which I like. As in, you can dodge just about any attack, unlike games like the Mana series.

  2. 2 PapillonReellonReel June 30, 2011 at 10:03 pm

    “Steady paychecks are making me dangerously irresponsible.”

    If you think that’s bad, you should’ve seen all the games I bought when I got my first job two years back. I spent several thousands of dollars (no exaggeration) catching up on the bulk of games I missed over the years.

    I guess it’s a result of all the pent-up consumerism unable to express itself outside of birthdays and holidays? Hmm.

    As for The Last Story, Pandora’s Tower, Xenoblade/Monado and so on down the line, there’s always the option of installing the Homebrew channel to bypass region encoding – even if it’s not bought locally, there’s at least some option of playing it. It’s nice of NoE to translate the games for us at least (unlike 7th Dragon, whose lack of a translation I’m STILL bitter about, but ehh).


Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories