Stuff and Nonsense

1) In my town, on the Fourth of July, a whole fleet of hot air balloons is brought in for the population to ooh and ahh at. When I was driving home from work this morning, I saw them bringing them in. It was an oddly beautiful sight, if a bit postcard-y — zeppelins drifting silently (from my perspective) out of the morning mist. It was like I’d stepped out of work into some alternate steampunk universe.

2) Ever since becoming employed I’ve undergone a curious transformation: I’ve become a person who buys games he doesn’t immediately intend to play.

You have to consider that I’ve never before in my entire life been that kind of person. The reason my backlog is so small compared to most people’s is because if I bought a new game, it was because I intended to rush home as quickly as possible afterwards and stick it into the appropriate machine. Buying a new game just to stick it on a shelf with vague intentions to “get to it someday” seemed to me to be the height of extravagance.

And yet, when I was thinking about how I wanted to spend the portion of my next paycheck that I’ve allotted to entertainment, I found myself on Amazon sticking PSP games into my cart willy-nilly. Never mind that Dissidia’s still not done. Never mind that I’m not even halfway through Final Fantasy Tactics. Never mind that I’m planning to participate in the Suikoden Fun Club, which starts on the very day I get paid. Never mind that Sonic Colors, Chrono Trigger, and Final Fantasy III are still staring accusingly at me through my Wii Menu.

My internal argument went something like this: These are games that I’m going to want to play sooner or later. I don’t have anything more pressing to spend my money on. Why not let Amazon’s courier take his leisurely jaunt through the countryside now, while I’ve got other things occupying my time, rather than after I’ve finished everything and am jonesing for something new to play heresoonnow? Also that last sentence was way too long, internal dialogue.

Reel, in the comments of the last post where I addressed this issue (albeit more obliquely), characterized this attitude as “pent-up consumerism”, and he may be right. It may be that I was always like this; I just didn’t have the means to act on it until now. Still, it’s probably not a good idea to buy so many games that I’ll be backed up for years, so I should probably find something else to invest in so that I don’t blow my entire wad of spending money on these things. I’ve been thinking for the last year or so about upgrading my computer and putting together a machine that’s more capable for purposes of gaming and LPing, so maybe that might be a good investment? I’d have to research it first, though, given how limited my computer knowledge is.

3) And if all that weren’t enough, I’ve been kind of itching to replay Final Fantasy VII, of all things, recently. It’s a shame I came to that game so late — I honestly wish I had it when I was twelve. If I had, I would have undoubtedly played it two dozen times and would know hundreds of obscure little facts and tricks about it. And its (unquestionably numerous) flaws would be crushed under the weight of sheer nostalgia, just like Ocarina of Time. As it is, I spent about five years arguing to anyone who would listen that it was impossibly overrated (which it is), only to develop a weird, almost grudging affection for it. Can you really have nostalgia for something if you didn’t experience it the first time? Who can account for the strange directions the game mind moves in?

0 Responses to “Stuff and Nonsense”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archive

Categories